So I missed last week entirely. I’d like to say I was doing something terribly exciting like skydiving or visiting Machu Pichu, but the truth is, I just kinda meh, missed Sunday, then missed Monday, then missed Tuesday, and by Wednesday was like, eh, whatever. It hasn’t been a bad week, but it hasn’t been a fun one either, writing-wise. I’m starting to think that scheduling anything in December (AT ALL) other than Christmas prep is probably a recipe for failure. There are just so many other things I forget I need to do when this time of year rolls around, and the growing to-do list is always a bit surprising. Fitting in a writing project while also trying to make Christmas gifts, bake cookies, decorate, write the Christmas Letter, and organize the gift-giving process, in addition to trying to finish a few reads before the year ends, is just proving quite challenging. Especially when I’m hitting that point in a project where I just kind of hate the thing. I know that feeling will eventually pass, but not quickly, and not for a while, and with the new year looming and hopes for a fresh start on new projects, the fear of dilly-dallying into Spring 2017 on this current project is horrifying. But, I did create a new edit deadline list to incorporate some of the bigger plot shifts my lovely Girls in the Attic threw me last week, but the new required sequences have slowed down the forward momentum. At this point, I’m simply hoping to get the messy, pseudo-rewritten story to one of my trusted beta readers by the end of the month, and hopefully her comments will illuminate my way forward on it.

So this week, I’m working on: Just keeping on, keeping on. I have so much other stuff to do, I think I’ll make it a rule never to worry about writing anything during December (unless it’s so top-of-mind that I simply can’t help stealing time to work on it). Mainly, I want to add one more scene and start the quick read-through to incorporate an overarching character detail and make sure it generally reads through the whole story. After that, I’m just hoping to get it to my beta reader and hope for extensive critique to help me figure out what’s needed moving forward.

What’s inspiring me this week:  Just started The Crown, and am really enjoying it. Just finished Luke Cage, too, which while I really enjoyed overall, I felt like the dialogue in the last few episodes really fell apart, sounding more like writers putting words in fictional characters’ mouths, which bothered me some. I’m excited to see what they do in a second season, though, because I do feel they left the characters in a solid “everybody changed” setup that should provide some interesting dynamics as the story progresses.

 Also, making things like snowflakes from toilet paper rolls and making tiny felt dolls. I haven’t indulged in this kind of crafting for a while, and I forgot how much I enjoy it. I’ll post some in-progress pictures later, but it’s been a lot of fun, despite requiring significant time investment.

What I’m avoiding: …can I put “Grown-Up Life” here? ^_-

