It’s been an interesting week. I won’t go into details, but it orbits around the work environment, and around the question of whether or not I’ll be working there once my temp job is over. It’s generally positive for me, but I don’t want to displace anyone either, especially if Job Opportunity #2 comes through, because then we could both be happily employed and no one would have to whisper on phones. Whispering on phones makes me nervous, especially when I hear my name mentioned. O.<

In other news-! Nothing all that exciting, to be honest. Started reading The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton. It always amazes me how she can catch my attention for even the most quiet, unobtrusive dinner parties, and keep me riveted to know what Miss Bart will do next. Strange. Makes good before bed reading though, as it’s, so far, less emotionally taunt than Ethan Frome or her ghost stories (which I highly recommend, if you like subtle, creepy ghost stories–me, I love them).  

I’ve also started on the infamous CHEKHOV YEAR 2! In the middle of the first week of the first story, and have so far picked the story, done some minor plot thinking, and started writing. This one’s been cycling around in my head for a while, and the mood just grabbed me. Plus, I found Enya’s song “Exile” that was just perfect for the tone of the story.

Tally so far:

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
1,000 / 7,500
(13.3%)

(The 7.5k is my “Oh please don’t let me make it longer than that!” plea to myself. May it be shorter than that.)

Also: Red vs. Blue makes me laugh way too much.

